25
Mar
10

yellow apron & purple clipboard

dream this a.m.–

amidst the stones in my old school’s courtyard where the rain falls off the eaves I find my crumpled yellow apron and sun-bleached purple clipboard half buried in the effluent stones and sandy dirt

8 Responses to “yellow apron & purple clipboard”


  1. March 25, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Really deep and good. I can’t compose as you do. Very good.

  2. March 25, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    To respond: my elementary school was Coggin Ward. That’s how they divided our city: into wards. Yellow apron. In my school yard, colors, maroon and white — dancing chorus as we played football, even in elementary school. Your yellow apron. Good god, what have we left behind, in those old schools of ours? A lot, I think.

    Now, C.C.! Tell us more poetically. Effluent stones. I am waiting…

    • March 25, 2010 at 2:17 pm

      So, the rest of the story is that this was the yard of the school I taught at til 94 – and in the dream I was back team-teaching there, tho this time it was 5th grade and my partner was a young dark-bearded, long-haired fellow into fractals – and we were co-teaching a lesson on personal essay to them … I used to teach process approach to writing a la Lucy McCormick Calkins to 3rd graders back in the resource-rich golden years pre-NCLB – probably the type of teaching that frustrated college writing profs like you – where we taught kids to spell the sounds they heard so they wouldn’t stop mid-thought to ask for the correct spelling. Of course, the revising, proof-reading, and publishing stages were given just as much attention alongside rehearsal and rough draft. I haven’t had my own public school classroom full time in ten years.

      The dream is important in that I just had a great taste this past Jan/Feb when I ran the art program at a nearby middle school and realized I could love teaching again, if it were an art classroom … (of course, not to the test.)

      Jack, you are a great responder. You also find the greatest bloggers, for which I am very grateful. Just don’t have much time these days since I am coordinating a public mural – which I will post about hopefully soon.

      Thanks for your feedback!

      • March 28, 2010 at 6:33 am

        Thanks for the elaboration. I will look forward to your posting about the mural. And, yes, to teach but not to the test. Texas is really in the pits now with the Education Board selecting what goes in a text, what stays out. I’m nearly out of college teaching, maybe this year.

        I so much enjoy your blog, C.C. You are one of the really, really, excellent bloggers. I knew from the beginning that you were either published or taught writing or both. I put you up there with coffeeonthemesa and Observations from a Mo. River Bluff, both published writers. Coffeeonthemesa posts about every month, three weeks. Observ. from Mo. Bluff is not posting anymore.

        My striving is to put together a sufficient body of material in blogging, then coordinating the prose into something printable. It’s not the money, it’s the creation of a good, lasting piece of prose, elucidating the human condition, that makes me tick — today, at least. Tomorrow will take care of itself, it is said. When you post, I will read. And, read again. As the trainer of Fanny said, and I say to you: Good upon you, C.C.

    • March 25, 2010 at 2:18 pm

      Was Coggin Ward in a place like Louisiana?

  3. March 28, 2010 at 9:15 am

    Thank you for the support, Jack.
    Both your blogs Sage to Meadow and Poprock Hill at Eleven Hundred (sorry for not getting it exact) ARE meaningful to the human and earthling condition, for sure. You also have a very good handle on your own muse. Thanks for sharing what you do over there.


Leave a Reply

clay & log posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers


