08
Aug
10

leap-frog from one august to the next

August last year I began this blog with a post I had made on another blog from the previous August.

Honoring this place for me, I share a poem I wrote for Daughter, leaping back to August of 2007.

I want to say this is a most satisfying place to be, Color of Sand.

August 10, 2007

A bee enters a trumpet flower.

The morning still and cool.

Crows and Grackles sit on high branches,

ants and roly polies move leaves and twigs.

The end of summer vacation is your birthday,

your last year before high school comes.

Today  13 years ago I stroked your arm in a plastic box,

sang you a lullaby, not on my belly as planned./

Bones & blood now lend you a different air –

thoughtfulness shared, advice given,

help springs and

more time for turning away.

When others talk of difficult kids

we have our vision brightened

by your kind eyes,

deep laugh and passion-filled habits.

No more will the neighbor irrigate chile rows

and water seep under fence into your outdoor kitchen café

where you slapped mud & grapes into rusty plates.

New little hands are due to wait the café table never more to be flooded that way.

Black beetle hobbles over the path past the sand box.

The road slants in a different direction –

sturdy rich and beautiful

with you alongside.

© 2007 Cirrelda C. Snider-Bryan

the dishes are kept for future hannies

4 Responses to “leap-frog from one august to the next”


  1. August 10, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Cirrelda,

    Very touching, very moving poem. Your daughter is fortunate to have you as parent. Stroked her arm in a plastic box. Now she’s growing and…bittersweet. Roly polies — haven’t heard that in a long time. Truly lovely description of her childhood.

    The day I saw my only daughter for the first time changed my life forever. I looked through a window in the door when the nurses brought her to the frame.

    Hope all is well with you and yours.

  2. August 10, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    Hey there Jack,
    You are way ahead of me in the child rearing journey. I felt like these lines I wrote were very minimal actually. I feel like I have a long way to go – digging deeper, saying more. But glad to hear you liked this. Your comments mean a lot to me. Part of being a parent in the “active” years is that much stuff is done “on-the-fly” kinda fast and from the hip. A long time ago a writer friend with lots of experience recommended that I go totally prose paragraph with my “poems.” Maybe then I would get more said. Like your recent post on Albuquerque from the eyes of a youth into present. You really covered a lot of ground with that piece.
    cc

  3. August 10, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    And have to add as well, I am having a hard time here with wordpress formatting – tried to get my poem to have stanza breaks about 10 times. Tried what I did before with pasting a “pre-format” in to no avail. I will need to take time to ask them for help with this – when I have a moment!

  4. September 12, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Cirrelda,

    I came back and read you poem. Just beautiful. Warmest regards, Jack.


Leave a Reply

clay & log posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers


