04
Mar
11

warmer days

Noticed this morn (4th of March, 2011) that many bulbs have pushed their green stalks up through their leaf blankets in our yard. Putting out water for the birds. And Mistress Beek, our local bee blogger said to put out water for the bees now.  I have been researching water needs of insects and other desert dwellers so I can tell the 3-5 year olds about it this coming week as our last habitat class is devoted to Dusty Deserts. I found a really great educational institution, part of ASU’s Global Institute of Sustainability: Southwest Center for Education and the Natural Environment.

I gotta go start my day now, but will check back with what I have learned.

http://scene.asu.edu/habitat/patterns.html

5 Responses to “warmer days”


  1. March 7, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    It is interesting that each climate, each plant community has its own distinct needs. I was struck by insects needing water. Of course in the water rich area I live in that’s not an issue. But there are other issues.

    It’s so nice that you do environmental education with kids. This is so important. This is our future! Having good environmental stewards in the upcoming years is our best hope. Thank you for doing this.

    • March 11, 2011 at 7:31 am

      Thanks for your comment.
      We read that many animals in the high desert get their water from the food they eat, yet there is the evidence that they clamor to actual water sources (as in Jack’s comment below). A great thing about teaching (and I bet regular blogging like yours, Bill) is the active learning you engage in with the community of learners.

  2. March 11, 2011 at 5:17 am

    We’ve had a very dry winter. Two weeks ago when I put out water for our dogs, beside the kitchen island, wood ants from the outside came in on a single trail to the water dish, drank and then turned around to go outside. The wood ants didn’t disturb anything else. The trail was about fifteen feet long across the stone floor, and they had made it while we were away at work during the day. Brenda at first panicked, but when we realized what they were after water, we began to water outside and they have not returned. Interesting little guys. Courteous.

    • March 11, 2011 at 7:34 am

      Wow – so neat to hear this, Jack. Courteous, yes! Especially if they are not pounced upon! Like is the instinct I encounter in myself, too. I have this gut reaction to centipedes, for example, to just go after them. I realized the last time I did it though that in their niche, they are so important. If they are not in the ceiling above your bed, or near a children’s play area, I can relax and put dirt back over them …

  3. March 11, 2011 at 7:40 am

    And one more thing – at Asombro Science Institute’s facebook post:
    “Asombro Institute for Science Education
    A very busy week – 17 class programs, 2 field trips, and a career day. But having a 3rd grader tell me (after learning about erosion and the Grand Canyon) that she was “Grand Canyon deep in science” is what it is all about!”

    And my comment back:
    Cirrelda Snider-Bryan A gem of a response you got there! Just yesterday a 4 year old exclaimed to me “I just love nature!”


Leave a Reply

clay & log posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers


