11
Jun
11

Sister Corita

A good article here on a hero of mine. I was reminded of her while looking at my friend Miriam’s blog this morning where she shows current day printer Suzanne Vilmain’s work.

(http://observatory.designobserver.com/feature/sister-corita-the-juiciest-tomato/5097/
if the link doesn’t work for you)

I add this here today to remind myself how much of an influence Sister Corita is in my expression.

My dad loved her work, too, and that is one reason I loved it. He bought a copy of this one, ‘the juiciest tomato of all,’ and had it hanging in our den. Then he would somehow find her work in magazines and keep them. I still have both the print and many of the copies. I bought a book of hers at Acequia Booksellers last year, Footnotes and Headlines: A Play Pray Book. It is filled with her print/poem musings.

'the juiciest tomato of all' by Sister Corita serigraph 1964 (thanks to Design Observer Group site)

One of my favorites is “I have loved you” about Gideon and God in conversation. I relate to it as Gideon is quoted in it saying he cannot believe – a place I find myself in.

She designed the first “love” stamp in 1985.

Love stamp by Sister Corita 1985


Today it is very good to immerse myself in her mode of expression and to remember it.

6 Responses to “Sister Corita”


  1. June 12, 2011 at 8:26 am

    I love her too but really only know the profile of Ho Chi Minh on the oil tank south of Boston…had no idea she did the stamp–thank you!

    • June 12, 2011 at 8:37 am

      Really, you didn’t know? her work is so immense, really need to brush up on it. Brings us back to that time. I will have to search for the Ho Chi Minh.

  2. June 20, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Wow, I forgot all about her. The stamp struck an immediate chord and the tomato poster is awesome. I’m going to do some research on her and find out where I can get some of her work (reprints of course)! Thanks so much

    • June 20, 2011 at 9:42 pm

      I know, i should look for what’s available from her these days, too. It is great to look at the way she used print and how she printed and her color – and of course not a digital bone in her body. Sister Corita’s politics so much a part of her work.
      Thanks for stopping over. Need to see what you are doing!

  3. June 22, 2011 at 8:35 am

    Holy moly, I did some research on Sister Corita and was absolutely amazed at how many different prints she did. The one that impressed me the most, it absolutely stunning, is entitles “Benidicto”. I’m so happy you reacquainted me with her! Thank you.

  4. June 22, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Holy Moly! sounds like an expression she woulda used in one of her pieces – she was so into honoring the everyday. I will search for that one, Bill.


Leave a Reply

clay & log posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers


