15
Nov
11

Log: Crane Flight Over Rio Grande

Tat-a-tat-tat in
the top of the elm:
morning Ladderback.

Late afternoon walk:
Ides of November
V after V of Cranes.

Planets and stars out –
sun faded on horizon,
low Crane warble!

-ccsb 11/15/11

Bosque Panel install September 2010

_________________________________

3 lines, in the Japanese Haiku tradition, serve me well to help my noticing, and help me notice more. I had pleasure of being a part of a Renga group a few years ago and got to experience the rhythm of sharing back and forth, as well as noticing with 3 lines, or 3 lines + 2 lines. Our group was wonderful in that it was the meaning, not the exact form, that was the goal.

11 Responses to “Log: Crane Flight Over Rio Grande”


  1. November 20, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    I really enjoyed these. I’ve done precisely two haiku in my life. I love them dearly, and the interesting thing about them is that they weren’t precisely thought out – they just seemed to emerge, fully formed.

    Last Lent, my discipline was to post a 140 character “tweet” on Twitter, which was a description of what I saw from my balcony, first thing in the mornning. It was rather like priming the pump – they became more poetic than much of the poetry I’ve tried to write!

    I think I might give that another go. Thanks for sharing these and for inspiring me!

    • November 24, 2011 at 8:33 am

      Linda – as my Renga group leader just wrote in her Thanksgiving message, “The poem I give to you in thanksgiving for your friendship is a tanka, a Japanese form, gifted to me on a recent morning commune with my feathered friends.” – you also understand : “they just seemed to emerge, fully formed.”

      Gifts, emergences – and short. And what John Brandi, poet here, says a lot about haiku: the twist.

      Thanks for your sharing here, Linda.
      In solidarity,
      cirrelda

  2. November 23, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    Cirrelda, I have not composed haiku. Your creation of haiku fits with nature, the cranes. I like the late afternoon photo of the Bosque panel. Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. 5 pcallen
    December 2, 2011 at 8:50 am

    It is a beautiful photo,
    even though I know what was going on inside his head,
    there on the scaffold.

    • December 2, 2011 at 9:43 pm

      LOL Peter Callen! You were he, the stalwart driller, trying for umpteen hours to get one bolt to enter the wall and hold.

      Oh to know what was going on inside his head.

  4. December 3, 2011 at 7:24 am

    This is just beautiful. It somehow matches the rhythm of nature as you intended. A perfect composition in my eyes and ears. Thank you.

  5. December 24, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    Merry Christmas, Cirrelda, to you and yours!


Leave a Reply

clay & log posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


