18
Nov
12

John Nichols hits my jackpot

Just finished reading John Nichols’ latest novel – On Top of Spoon Mountain.  His writing epiphanied so many common threads in our lives – popular culture, connection with the land and creatures, family, bad decisions made in life, old age, creaking bones, injuries, the same hikes hiked, the same land loved, the same types of people and animals that come in to inspire a life. I wish to sing its praises better, and will have to work on it. But will suffice with this first draft of attempt at an ode to one of the best books read in a long time. It is worth the money to buy the hardback, en mi opinion.

2 Responses to “John Nichols hits my jackpot”


  1. November 20, 2012 at 7:36 am

    I think I might have to put this fellow on my reading list. I’ve never heard of him, but every one of his titles is marvelous. Somebody who can create consistently good titles is worth taking a look at. And in the review, I saw the phrase “drop-dead humor”. The only words that could have been more appealing are “droll” or “wry”. I’ll always have a read if I see those words in a review!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • December 18, 2012 at 7:43 pm

      Linda,
      It has been a busy few weeks for me – and somehow your comment got away from me. Thanks for reading my gushing about John Nichols. You may remember the movie made out of his book, “The Milagro Beanfield War.” My favorite book of his is from the 80’s – “The last Beautiful Days of Autumn.” My sis is reading my copy of this newest one right now. If you were in the area, would lend it to you next so you could see for yourself.
      Now to visit your blog.
      -cirrelda


Leave a Reply

clay & log posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers


