22
Feb
16

Process for Imprint Tiles

IMG_0236

I choose “relief” tile over just a flat, painted tile generally. I have etched and drawn into clay throughout the almost 50 years I’ve been working with it — first took clay classes at Philbrook Art Center in Tulsa in 1968 at the age of 11, with Marsha Manhart as my first teacher.

In the late 90’s I read Frank Giorgini’s book Handmade Tiles where he describes creating plaster molds for pressing slabs to create multiple versions of same tile. I know many folks were inspired by his book. After having a plaster press mold lose detail, I began to make my press molds from bisque-fired tiles. Most of the tiles shown in the albums here are made this way. I have created over 40 of these press tile forms which are negatives from my drawings.

Here are a few imprint tiles paired with finished tile. There is range of depth and detail – some are just lines, others have carved or built texture to create the final relief when a pre-measured slab is pressed into it.

2 Responses to “Process for Imprint Tiles”


  1. February 22, 2016 at 8:35 am

    How nice to see you, and your tiles. I’m utterly non-crafty and non-artistic, so I’m always interested to see how people do such things. I really like the botanicals, especially the Yerba de la Negrita. It’s just lovely.

    Spring is here, and the first flowers are appearing. The birds are chirping and cooing, too, so it won’t be long until babies arrive. We didn’t have much of a winter, but if I had to choose between a hard winter and an easy one: welll, what kind of choice is that?


Leave a Reply

clay & log posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers


